Debating India


Congress re-emerges in U.P.

Thursday 9 November 2006, by KHAN*Atiq

BJP the clear winner in the mayoral elections

LUCKNOW: Despite putting up a poor performance in its traditional strongholds of Amethi and Rae Bareli and losing the mayoral elections in Kanpur (represented in the Lok Sabha by Union Minister of State for Home Sri Prakash Jaiswal) and Varanasi in the civic polls across the State, the Congress on Wednesday managed to re-emerge as a political factor in Uttar Pradesh.

The Congress also fared poorly in Gorakhpur district, represented in the Lok Sabha by Union Minister Mahabir Prasad, who is the MP from Bansgaon.

In the mayoral elections, the Congress bagged Bareilly, Allahabad and Jhansi but lost the race in Lucknow by a small margin to the Bharatiya Janata Party. The winner in Lucknow was officially declared late on Tuesday night after a marathon 24 hours of counting which saw fortunes fluctuating from the BJP’s Dinesh Sharma to the Congress’ Manzoor Ahmed. Eventually it was Dr. Sharma who emerged winner by a margin of 9,303 votes over Prof. Ahmed. The Samajwadi Party’s Madhu Gupta was placed third.

In Jhansi (reserved), B. Lal of the Congress trounced his closest Samajwadi rival, Yogendra Kanchausia-Kori, by about 38,000 votes.

In Allahabad, it was Chaudhary Jitendra Nath Singh, riding on the support of dominant Kayastha votes, who defeated Vinod Dubey of the SP.

The BJP was the clear winner in the mayoral polls with its candidates elected Mayors of Ghaziabad, Meerut, Aligarh, Agra, Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Kanpur and Lucknow. The Samajwadi Party won the Moradabad Mayor’s seat.

In the 2000 civic elections, the BJP had won six mayoral seats and the Congress and the SP one each, with the remaining seats won by independents.

In the corporators’ elections in the 12 Municipal Corporations (Nagar Nigams), the Congress this time round has bettered its performance by a few notches over the 2000 polls. In the 12 Municipal Corporations there are 980 wards on which the corporators are elected, with Lucknow and Kanpur having the largest number of 110 wards each.

Out of the results of 582 wards declared so far by the State Election Commission, 86 Congress candidates have been declared elected as corporators. In Lucknow Nagar Nigam, the Congress almost doubled its numbers from 13 corporators in the 2000 polls to 23 this time round.

See online : Ther Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0