Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Political Parties & Elections > Regional Elections > DPA wins in Pondicherry, coalition back after 6 years


DPA wins in Pondicherry, coalition back after 6 years

Friday 12 May 2006

Express news service

Pondicherry will return to the coalition era after a gap of six years with the Congress-led Democratic Progressive Alliance winning 20 seats in the 30-member Assembly which went to polls on May 8.

The Congress, which contested 16 seats, failed to get a simple majority on its own as it won 10 seats while its allies DMK emerged victorious in seven, PMK two and the CPI one.

Chief Minister N Rangasamy won his Thattanchavadi seat with a lead of over 28,000 votes. The AIADMK won three seats and its partners PMC, formed by expelled Congress leader P Kannan, three and MDMK one. Independents - Congress rebel A Elumalai (Oussudu), DMK rebel A Marmimuthu (Nedungadu) and J Narayanasamy (Villenour) - bagged the remaining three seats.

See online : The Indian Express

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0