Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Political Parties & Elections > Regional Elections > AIADMK to lock horns with DMK in five Erode seats


AIADMK to lock horns with DMK in five Erode seats

Tuesday 11 April 2006, by MADHAVAN*Karthik , SUNDARAM*R.

Parties have re-nominated only three sitting MLAs

ERODE: Arch rivals All-India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) are set to lock horns in five of the 11 constituencies in Erode district.

The Erode, Modakurichi, Kangeyam, Vellakoil, Dharapuram (reserve), Perundurai, Bhavani, Bhavanisagar, Anthiyur (reserve), Gobichettipalayam and Sathyamangalam constituencies have an electorate of 18,08,957 (9,00,307 men and 9,08,680 women).

Fewer voters

Erode, the biggest constituency, had 3,21,070 voters for the 2001 elections. This has slumped to 2,96,728 voters this time round.

In Gobichettipalayam, former AIADMK minister K.Sengottaiyan will take on K.Vengittu Manimaran. In Bhavanisagar, Sindhu Ravichandran of the AIADMK will lock horns with Jeeva O.Subramaniam of the DMK.

Dharapuram will witness a battle between Renganayaki of the AIADMK and P.Prabavathy of the DMK. In Erode, E.R.Sivakumar of the ruling party and N.K.K.P.Raja of the DMK will fight it out. In Anthiyur, M.Subramaniam, who has replaced Selvi Duraisamy, has been pitted against S.Gurusamy of the DMK.

MDMK-DMK tussle

MDMK candidates A.Ganesamurthy and T.K.Subramaniam will take on DMK nominees M.P.Saminathan and L.B.Dharmalingam in Vellakoil and Sathyamangalam respectively.

In Kangayam and Modakurichi, the Congress candidates will take on AIADMK nominees N.M.S.Palanichami and P.C.Ramasamy, a Minister in the present dispensation.

The Democratic Progressive Alliance partners Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) and the Communist Party of India are contesting from Bhavani and Perundurai constituencies.

2 women candidates

Among the candidates, only two are women - Ms.Renganayaki and Ms. Prabavathy.

An interesting feature is that only three sitting MLAs have been re-nominated. While two are from the AIADMK - Mr.Ramasamy and K.C.Kuruppannan in Bhavani, the lone DMK candidate seeking re-election is M.P.Saminathan from Vellakoil.

And Mr.Jeeva O.Subramaniam has been re-nominated though he lost in the 2001 elections.

Erode was once an AIADMK bastion. In 1977, 1980 and 1984, former Minister S.Muthuswamy represented the constituency. After the split in the AIADMK, the DMK captured the constituency in the 1989 elections. But in 1991, AIADMK candidate C.Manickkam was elected. In 1996, DMK candidate N.K.K.Periyasamy bagged the seat, defeating his AIADMK rival S.Muthuswamy. In 2001, AIADMK candidate K.S.Thennarasu, a new face, wrested the seat, defeating Mr.Periyasamy.

Now a new face, E.R.Sivakumar, has been nominated by the AIADMK. He was chairman of the Erode panchayat union.

In 2001, the AIADMK polled 95,464 votes and the DMK, 71,084 votes. The MDMK, which contested independently then, polled only 9,859 votes.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0