Debating India


AIADMK charge baseless: DMK

Monday 10 April 2006

Special Correspondent

"Fear of losing made Jayalalithaa say so"

CHENNAI: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam president M. Karunanidhi on Sunday refuted the allegation that the Opposition was planning to unleash violence to stall the May 8 Assembly elections.

"Our desire is that elections should be held as early as possible," he told reporters here, when asked about Chief Minister Jayalalithaa’s allegation during an election rally on Saturday that the Opposition was planning to indulge in violence ahead of the polls.

Mr. Karunanidhi contended that it was the fear of losing the polls that made Ms. Jayalalithaa to speak in this manner.

"Their [The State] intelligence department has predicted that the DMK will win about 200 seats," he said and added that the pre-poll surveys of some media houses had also said the same.

To another question, he said that a Chief Minister saying that the peace would be disturbed meant that she was not fit to be the Chief Minister.

After her allegation, it has become very clear to the DMK-led front that it was winning with a thumping majority, he said.

"Free cable TV connection"

Mr. Karunanidhi said that if required, the DMK would also consider providing free cable TV connection if it came to power.

On the Centre announcing reservation in Central institutions, Mr. Karunanidhi said that it was not as if the announcement would be implemented immediately. It has been made clear that the government order to implement this would be issued only after the elections.

He said he would welcome any announcement of reservation made on the basis of the Mandal Commission report.

Review committees

In a release issued earlier, Mr. Karunanidhi announced the setting up of election work review committees to look into poll-related issues.

Five such committees would be set up.

DMK leaders T.R. Baalu, Alandur Bharati and A. Krishnasamy will be in charge of Chennai, Tiruvallur, Kancheepuram, Vellore and Tiruvannamalai districts; A. Raja, E. Pugazhendhi, Kuzhandai Tamilarasan will look after Tiruchi, Perambalur, Karur, Sivagangai, Theni, Dindigul, Madurai; S.S. Palanimanickam, A.K.S. Vijayan and Shanmugham will be in charge of Thanjavurm Tiruvarur, Nagapattinam, Cuddalore and Villupuram; S. Regupathy, A.L. Subramaniam and Thennavan will look into issues in Pudukottai, Ramanathapuram, Virudhunagar, Tirunelveli, Tuticorin and Kanyakumari while Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan, Venkatapathy, E.P. Sugavanam and K.P. Ramalingam will take care of Dharmapuri, Krishnagiri, Salem, Namakkal, Coimbatore, Erode and Nilgiris.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0