Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Political Parties & Elections > Regional Parties > Campaigning ends for second phase in Assam

ASSAM 2006

Campaigning ends for second phase in Assam

Sunday 9 April 2006

Special Correspondent

Brindaban Goswami and Prafulla Kumar Mahanta in the fray

Guwahati: Campaigning for the second and final phase of polling in Assam came to an end on Saturday. Sixty-one Assembly constituencies go to the polls on Monday. A total of 482 candidates are in the fray.

Prominent candidates in the second phase include the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) chief and chief ministerial candidate, Brindaban Goswami, his arch rival and former Chief Minister, Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, president of the Assam United Democratic Front (AUDF) Maulana Badaruddin Ajmal, and State CPI(M) secretary Uddhab Barman.

Mr. Goswami is seeking re-election from the Tezpur constituency and is also contesting from Barchalla. Mr. Mahanta, who formed the AGP (Progressive) after being expelled from the AGP for alleged anti-party activities, is contesting from the Barhampur and Nagon constituencies. Mr. Ajmal is contesting from South Salmara.The former president of the All-Assam Students’ Union (AASU), Prabin Boro, who is contesting as an AGP candidate from the Barama constituency, and the former president of the All-Bodo Students’ Union (ABSU), Rabiram Narzary, are also in the fray.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0