Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Political Parties & Elections > Regional Elections > Karunanidhi to seek re-election from Chepauk


Karunanidhi to seek re-election from Chepauk

Friday 31 March 2006

Special Correspondent

CHENNAI: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam president M.Karunanidhi, general secretary K.Anbazhagan, treasurer Arcot N.Veerasamy and deputy general secretaries M.K. Stalin, Parithi Ilamvazhuthi and Sargunapandian will contest the Assembly elections from the city.

Mr.Karunanidhi will seek re-election from Chepauk, Mr.Anbazhagan from Harbour, Mr.Veerasamy from Anna Nagar, Mr.Stalin from Thousand Lights, Mr.Ilamvazhuthi from Egmore and Mr.Sargunapandian from R.K.Nagar.

While 22 sitting MLAs have been re-nominated, Appavoo, who won as an Independent in Radhapuram and later joined the DMK, has also been allotted the seat again.

Those denied the ticket include party whip E.Pugazhendi, Asokan (Tiruvarur), S.A.M.Hussain (Triplicane), Parani Kumar (Tiruchi - 1) and Vythialingam (Tambaram).

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0