Debating India


AIADMK candidates changed

Wednesday 29 March 2006

Special Correspondent

CHENNAI: K. Kalimuthu, former Speaker of the Tamil Nadu Assembly, has been dropped from the list of AIADMK candidates for the Assembly elections. Sources said he was replaced on health grounds. Four other candidates, who figured in the original list released on March 27, too have been changed.

According to a party press release, S.T.K. Jakkaiyan, secretary Anna Thozhir Sanga Peravai, replaces Mr. Kalimuthu in Madurai (Central) constituency.

While S.P. Velumani will be the new candidate in place of K.P. Raju in Perur constituency, M. Subramaniam replaces Selvi Duraisamy in Anthiyur (reserved) constituency. R. Parthiban will be the new candidate of the party in Bodinayakkanur constituency in place of M. Paramasivam.

The AIADMK nominee from Usudu (reserved) constituency in Pondicherry, M. Selvaraj, has been replaced with S. Arasi, party’s deputy general secretary in Pondicherry.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0