Debating India


12 new faces in CPI list

Tuesday 28 March 2006

Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Senior CPI leaders K.E. Ismail and K.P. Rajendran are in the list of the party’s candidates for the Assembly elections.

The following is the list of 24 candidates (with their constituencies in brackets) announced by CPI State secretary Veliyam Bhargavan on Monday:

Pallipram Balan (Hosdurg), Binoy Viswam (Nadapuram), K. Moideenkoya (Tirurangadi), K.E. Ismail (Pattambi), Jose Baby (Mannarkkad), V.S. Sunil Kumar (Cherpu), Rajaji Mathew Thomas (Ollur), A.K. Chandran (Mala), Fathima Abdul Khader (Nattika), K.P. Rajendran (Kodungalloor), K.M. Dinakaran (Paravur), Babu Paul (Muvattupuzha), E.S. Bijimol (Peerumedu), Kanam Rajendran (Vazhoor), K. Ajith (Vaikom), P. Thilothaman (Cherthala), T.J. Anjelose (Alappuzha), K.R. Chandramohanan (Pathanapuram), K. Raju (Punalur), Mullakkara Ratnakaran (Chadayamangalam), C. Divakaran (Karunagapally), N. Aniruddhan (Chathannur), N. Rajan (Kilimanoor) and Mangode Radhakrishnan (Nedumangad).

Mr. Bhargavan said the party had earlier decided to keep out of the fray those who had fought the last two Assembly elections. In the case of four candidates - Mr. K.E. Ismail, Mr. K.P. Rajendran, Mr. Jose Baby and Mr. Mangode Radhakrishnan - the party has waived this condition, so as to lend experience to the party’s contingent in the next Assembly.

Twelve candidates are new to the electoral arena. They are: Mr. Moideenkoya, Mr. Sunil Kumar, Mr. Rajaji Mathew Thomas, Mr. A.K. Chandran, Ms. Fathima Abdul Khader, Mr. K.M. Dinakaran, Mr. Babu Paul, Ms. E.S. Bijimol, Mr. K. Ajith, Mr. P. Thilothaman, Mr. K. Raju and Mr. C. Divakaran.

NCP list

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), another constituent of the Left Democratic Front (LDF), will field A.K. Shasheendran in Baluserry constituency and Mani C. Kappan in Palai, the NCP said in a release on Monday.

The NCP said it had claim over three more seats: Palluruthy, Thiruvambady and Mavelikara. However, an agreement on the allocation of these seats to the NCP is yet to be reached in the LDF, the NCP said.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0