Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Political Parties & Elections > Regional Elections > No withdrawals: Close contest for Rajya Sabha seats


No withdrawals: Close contest for Rajya Sabha seats

Tuesday 21 March 2006

LUCKNOW: Uttar Pradesh is set to witness a keen contest in the elections on March 28 with none of the 13 candidates for 10 Rajya Sabha and 14 candidates for 13 Legislative Council seats withdrawing nominations as the deadline ended on Monday.

Altogether 13 candidates had filed nominations for the 10 Rajya Sabha seats in U.P. to biennial polls. All the nominations were found valid on Saturday.

In case of Legislative Council, nomination of Independent candidate Pradip Singh was rejected for not complying with Articles 3 and 36 of the Representation of People of India (RPI) Act. With this, 14 candidates are in fray for 13 seats.

Janeshwar Mishra, Banwari Lal Kanchal, Veerpal Singh, Virendra Bhatia, Mahendra Mohan Gupta (all Samajwadi Party), Maulana Mahmood Madni (RLD) and Azad Kumar Kardam (Congress) filed nominations for the Rajya Sabha on Friday — the last date for filing nominations.

Candidates for the LC seats, who filled their nominations on Friday, were Naresh Chandra Uttam, Khawaja Halim, Kashinath, Rakesh Singh Rana, Ramsharan Das, Dayaram Prajapati (all SP), Harpal Singh Saini (RLD), Matiur Rahman (Congress) and Pradeep Kumar Singh (Independent).

BJP candidates Kalraj Mishra and Vinay Katiyar alongwith industrialist Sudhanshu (Independent) had filed Rajya Sabha nominations on Thursday.

Mr. Mittal’s name was proposed by rebel BJP MLAs, who are now unattached in the House, along with some Independents and the lone Akhil Bharatiya Congress member Akhilesh Singh.

The industrialist is reported to have close links with top BJP leaders at the Centre.

The BSP had already given tickets to three candidates even though it can only win two of the 10 seats.

The party was banking on the support of the 38 rebel MLAs, who they claim as party members.

Three official BJP candidates — Ramapati Ram Tripathi, Ashok Dhawan and Ramnaresh Rawat — also filed nominations for the LC seats on Thursday.

BSP had already nominated three candidates each for the RS and council seats. While for BSP, Satish Chandra and Moon Kadh filed nominations for the RS seats, Babu Singh Kushawaha, Jugal Kishore and Sunil Kumar had submitted nominations for the LC seats.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0