Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Reservations and Affirmative Actions Policies > Civic polls: quota for Muslims may not be possible: YSR

Civic polls: quota for Muslims may not be possible: YSR

Tuesday 9 August 2005

Staff Reporter

`Projects in Telangana to be completed as per schedule’

NIRMAL (ADILABAD DT.): The Chief Minister, Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, said on Monday that reservations for Muslims in the municipal elections may not be possible because of time constraint.

He said more time would be required to consider the issue legally.

The Chief Minister told reporters that the alliance with the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) would be thrashed out only at the local level. Dr. Rajasekhara Reddy said all the irrigation projects in the Telangana region would be completed as per schedule. "If need be we will get additional funds from the Centre. We will demand a special package for Telangana projects," he said.

Blames TDP

The Chief Minister blamed the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) for all the current problems being faced by the State and held the TDP Government responsible for even the neglect of the spread of awareness on killer diseases like AIDS. "Had Mr. Naidu done enough during his nine-year rule to spread awareness against the disease, the State would not have had the dubious distinction of the maximum number of AIDS patients, he said. Had he done enough in the health sector we would not be faced with the outbreak of epidemics, he said. He also accused the TDP of making least efforts for the development of irrigation.

The Chief Minister held a review of developmental activities in the Municipalities in Adilabad district before beginning his `Rajiv Nagara Baata’ at Bhainsa.

Rule compared with TDP

Addressing a public meeting at Bhainsa, he compared the progress made by his Government during its 15-month rule with that of Mr. Naidu’s nine-year rule. He said his Government sanctioned over 4,250 houses for the weaker sections in Bhainsa alone, while during the last nine-year rule of the TDP only 700 houses were sanctioned.

The Social Welfare and district in charge Minister, D.S. Redya Naik, MLAs Narayan Rao Patel (Mudhole), C. Ramchander Reddy (Adilabad), A. Indrakaran Reddy (Nirmal), N. Diwakar Rao (Luxettipet), Koneru Konappa (Sirpur) and Soyam Bapu Rao (Boath) and district Collector R. Subba Rao and Joint Collector A. Dinakar Babu participated.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0