Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Institutions and Constitutional Regime > Federalism > President’s rule for the eighth time in Bihar

President’s rule for the eighth time in Bihar

Monday 7 March 2005

By Our Special Correspondent

PATNA, MARCH 6. It is the eighth time that President’s rule would be imposed in Bihar and the second time with which Rabri Devi’s term has been terminated during her eight-year tenure.

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led government had imposed President’s rule on February 12, 1999 on the issue of law and order dismissing the Rabri Devi government. But the National Democratic Alliance Government had to restore her dispensation when it failed to muster the necessary number in the Rajya Sabha on March 8. That was also because the NDA was not in a position to approve the State’s budget.

Ironically, President’s rule was imposed on March 28, 1995, dismissing Lalu Prasad’s government soon after the staggered Assembly elections, thanks to the Election Commission under T.N. Seshan, to facilitate the passage of the budget by Parliament before March 31, 1995.

The President’s rule was revoked then on April 4, which saw the return of Mr. Prasad in the office again.

Significantly, in 1995, Mr. Prasad continued in the office even after the expiry of the term of the House on March 15.

Whether it is relevant or not in the present context, political instability between 1968 and 1972 witnessed a spate of three Central rules.

The first time President’s rule was imposed was on February 26, 1968.

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0