Debating India

Govt appoints four new governors

Monday 5 July 2004

NEW DELHI: Former AICC General Secretary Nawal Kishore Sharma, former UPSC Chairman A R Kidwai, former IB chief T V Rajeshwar and former Nagaland Chief Minister S C Jamir were appointed governors of Gujarat, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Goa respectively on Monday.

A Rashtrapati Bhavan communique announced the appointment of the four governors on Monday evening, three days after the Centre dismissed governors of the four states citing their RSS links.

The new governors replace Kailashpati Mishra of Gujarat, Babu Parmanand of Haryana, Vishnu Kant Shastri of Uttar Pradesh and Kidar Nath Sahni of Goa.

Following the dismissal of the four governors, the President had given additional charge of Goa to Maharashtra Governor Mohd. Fazal, Gujarat to Madhya Pradesh Governor Balram Jakhar, Haryana to Punjab Governor Om Prakash Verma and Uttar Pradesh to Uttaranchal Governor Sudharshan Aggarwal.

See online : The Times of India


in The Times of India, Monday, July 05, 2004.

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0