Debating India

Parliament adjourned for the day

Monday 5 July 2004

NEW DELHI: The two-month-long Budget session of Parliament began on a tumultuous note on Monday with a determined BJP-led NDA members stalling proceedings in both Houses on the issue of presence of "tainted" Ministers in the Manmohan Singh government, forcing their adjournment for the day.

The agitated members demanding removal of the "tainted" ministers, however, allowed new members to take oath - one in Lok Sabha and 51 in Rajya Sabha.

As soon as Yerrannaidu took oath, BJP Chief whip Vijay Kumar Malhotra raised the issue of presence of "tainted" ministers in the Manmohan Singh government.

As Speaker Somnath Chatterjee pleaded with the Opposition members to raise the issue after the Question Hour, they trooped into the well shouting slogans " daagi mantri hatao, desh bachao (remove tainted Ministers and save the country)".

"Please go back to your seats. I assure you I will give opportunity to raise matters after the Question Hour," the Speaker repeatedly told them.

As the turmoil continued, the Speaker first adjourned the House for an hour and later when it assembled at noon, for the day after papers were laid on the table by ministers.

A similar scene erupted in Rajya Sabha after the new members including Home Minister Shivraj Patil, BJP President M Venkaiah Naidu, industrialist Anil Ambani, BSP chief Mayawati and film star Jaya Bachchan took oath.

Chairman Bhairon Singh Shekhawat adjourned the House for the day immediately after agitated Opposition members led by S S Ahluwalia (BJP) vociferously raised the issue of "tainted" ministers.

After an hour-long ceremony of oath taking by 51 newly-elected members, Ahluwalia was on his feet and wanted to know about the issue of "tainted" ministers which they had taken up during the previous session.

The issue had paralysed the first session of the new Lok Sabha as well as the Rajya Sabha last month.

Even before Ahluwalia completed his sentence noisely supported by his party colleagues, Shekhawat adjourned the House for the day.

In the midst of din in the Lok Sabha, the Speaker observed the special mentions by members be treated as read.

As the NDA members were shouting slogans from the well, Railway Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav was seen confabulating with his party members, including Ram Kripal Yadav, who were countering the BJP’s attack.

Even after the House was adjourned, RJD members were seen shouting at the Opposition.

While Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was not there in Lok Sabha, he introduced Information and Broadcasting Minister S Jaipal Reddy in Rajya Sabha.

Leader of the House Pranab Mukherjee and Leader of the Opposition L K Advani were present in Lok Sabha.

Prominent members who took oath in the Upper House included senior BJP leaders Jaswant Singh, who is Leader of the Opposition, Murli Manohar Joshi, Pramod Mahajan and Arun Shourie and Congress leaders Ambika Soni, Oscar Fernandes and Mohsina Kidwai.

Former Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson Najma Heptulla, industrialist Anil Ambani and NCP leader Tariq Anwar also took oath.

The listed business in the House included a special discussion on the situation in Iraq, the notice for which has been given by CPI members P K Vasudevan Nair and Ajoy Chakraborty.

See online : The Times of India


in The Times of India, Monday, July 05, 2004.

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0