Debating India
Home page > Photocopieuse > Mayawati sworn in UP Chief Minister


Mayawati sworn in UP Chief Minister

Sunday 13 May 2007

Lucknow, May. 13 (PTI): Bringing to an end 14 years of coalition raj in Uttar Pradesh, BSP chief Mayawati today assumed reins of power in the state heading a single party government inducting 19 others, including many from the upper castes, in keeping with the rainbow coalition she stitched to get a majority on her own.


The 51-year-old leader, who became the Chief Minister for a fourth time, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor T V Rajeshwar at simple ceremony on the lawns of Raj Bhavan.

The ceremony was attended by her arch rival and Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav along with the outgoing UP Assembly’s Speaker Mata Prasad.

BSP General Secretary Satish Chandra Mishra, who helped Mayawati in roping in Brahmin support for her, was the only political leader sitting on the dais along with her during the ceremony.

Those inducted include Naseemuddin Siddique, Sudhir Goel, Ramvir Upadhayaye, Lalji Verma, Indrajit Saroj, Sukhdev Raj, Thakur Jaiveer Singh, Swami Prasad Maurya, Meghram Bhatti and Lakshmi Narain.

Others are Rakesh Dhar Tripathi, B S Kushwaha, Jai Narain Rai, Babu Chouhan, Nakul Dubey, Daddu Prasad, Narain Singh, Ram Prasad Choudhary and Dharam Singh Saini.

Mayawati, who became the first Dalit Chief Minister in India in 1993, is the 40th Chief Minister of the largest state of the country and shares the record of becoming the Chief Minister four times in the state with Congress leader N D Tiwari.

Among the Ministers, Siddiqui is BSP national Secretary, Lalji Verma is State party chief. Swami Prasad Maurya, former BSP legislative party leader, who lost from Dalmau was also made a Minister. Mayawati, who is a sitting member of the Rajya Sabha, will have to be elected to the State Assembly or Legislative Council within six months from the date of her swearing in.

The Governor yesterday invited Mayawati to form the government after BSP legislators elected her as their leader in the 403-member Assembly. Her party won 206 seats out of 402 constituencies which went to poll in elections which spanned over one month.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0