Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Political Parties & Elections > Regional Elections > AIADMK fields new faces in Nagapattinam district


AIADMK fields new faces in Nagapattinam district

Wednesday 29 March 2006

Staff Reporter

Includes propaganda secretary, O.S.Manian

NAGAPATTINAM: The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) has fielded new faces in all the four Assembly segments being contested by the party in the district.

The party has fielded K.A.Jayapal, a local leader and secretary of the AIADMK’s fishermen wing in Nagapattinam, from Nagapattinam, and O.S.Manian, AIADMK’s propaganda secretary, from Vedaranyam. S.Pavunraj, Sembanarkovil union AIADMK secretary, will contest from Poompuhar while S.Rajendran, AIADMK farmers wing secretary of Kodavasal, will fight the polls from Kuthalam seat.

The party has allotted Mayiladuturai to its alliance partner Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) and Sirkazhi to Dalit Panthers of India (DPI).

Sitting MLAs

All the four sitting AIADMK MLAs, R.Chandramohan (Sirkazhi), N.Ranganathan (Poompuhar), R.Jeevanandam, former AIADMK Minister (Nagapattinam) and A.Natarajan (Kuthalam) are out of the race this time.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0