Debating India


Samajwadi Party wins Kauriram by-election

Tuesday 28 March 2006

Voting today for Rajya Sabha, Council polls

Gorakhpur: Samajwadi Party candidate Rambhuval Nishad on Monday defeated his nearest rival Sheetal Pandey of the BJP in the by-poll to the Kauriram Assembly seat by a margin of 10,629 votes, official sources said here.

Mr. Nishad polled 52,267 votes while his BJP rival got 41,638. The Congress stood fifth with its candidate Shivshabhu Nishat getting 6,115 votes. The BSP had not fielded any candidate.

The seat had fallen vacant after election to it was held null and void by the court on an election petition.

Mr Nishad had won the seat in the 2002 on a BSP ticket.

Tight security

LUCKNOW: All preparations have been made for voting in Tuesday’s Rajya Sabha and Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council biennial elections in Vidhan Bhavan where tight security is in place.

Voting would take place in Tilak Hall in the Bhavan from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. while counting would start at 5 p.m., Principal Secretary (Vidhan Sabha) and Returning Officer R. P. Pandey said here on Monday.

He said preparations were complete and UP Chief Electoral Officer Anuj Bishnoi would be among the three observers appointed by the Election Commission for the polls.

There are 13 candidates in the fray for 10 Rajya Sabha seats while 15 candidates would for trying their luck for 13 seats in Legislative Council.

Samajwadi Party has fielded five candidates followed by three by the BSP, two by the BJP and one each by the Congress, the Rashtriya Lok Dal and an Indpendent.

Tight security arrangements had been made in and around the Vidhan Bhavan in view of the elections, he added. PTI

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0