Debating India


Disqualification Bill passed

Saturday 25 March 2006

Chaos in the Jharkhand Assembly; four MLAs get respite

Ranchi: Amidst hurling of chairs and overturning of tables by Opposition United Progressive Alliance (UPA) members, the Jharkhand Assembly on Friday passed a controversial Bill to protect four National Democratic Alliance (NDA) MLAs from possible disqualification on the ground of their holding of offices of profit.

The Opposition protest came as soon as Speaker Inder Singh Namdhari took up the Jharkhand Legislature (Removal Of Disqualification) 2006 Bill. The members rushed to the well raising anti-Government slogans and demanded the resignation of four NDA MLAs, accusing them of holding offices of profit.

The MLAs are Karia Munda, who heads the 20-Point Programme Implementation Committee; Chhatruram Mahto heading the State Agriculture Marketing Board; Saryu Roy, vice-chairman of the State Planning Board; and Khiru Mahto, chairman of the Hazaribag Mines Board.

Terming it as a `black Bill’, some Opposition members overturned the House reporters’ table and chairs and marshals had a tough time shielding the Speaker. The Bill was passed by voice vote and the Speaker abruptly adjourned the House indefinitely.

See online : The Hindu

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0