Debating India
Home page > Public directory > Indian Politics > Political Parties & Elections > Sikh mini-parliament gets ready to greet Badal


Sikh mini-parliament gets ready to greet Badal

Sunday 11 July 2004

The most important elections that would determine the fate of Sikh politics went off quite peacefully in almost all the districts on Sunday. While the voter turnout was high in the rural areas, the cities witnessed a lower count. And as the results were announced all over, every other seat had the SAD name on it

Express News Service

Patiala, July 11: THE elections for the members of the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbhandhak Committee went off peacefully in the Patiala district with an average polling of 40 per cent throughout the district.

As the informal results trickled in, senior Akali leader and former SGPC chief Prof Kirpal Singh Badungar here tonight hailed the ?victory’ of Shiromani Akali Dal Badal nominees in the SGPC elections. In a statement issued here, Prof Badungar said the sikh masses had reposed confidence in the SAD B to run the affairs of the Sikh shrines. He said the results indicated that the Sikhs wanted ?neat and clean’ leaders to be at the helm of affairs for the management of the sikh shrines. Incidentally Prof Badungar’s reaction about ?victory’ of the SAD B candidates has come even before the formal declaration of the SGPC results.

Meanwhile, the Patiala Police had taken a number of preventive measure to check any untoward incident in the district. There were a total of 12 seats in Patiala district for which 524 polling booths had been set-up. About 2800 policemen and officials had been deployed at these booths out of which 155 were declared sensitive. Additional police force had been deputed at these polling booths to maintain law and order in the district.

The senior officials of the district as well as the police administration visited the polling booths to ensure safety of the voters. Senior Superintendent of Police A S Rai said that complete peace prevailed in the district and there were no incidents of any kind reported.

Meanwhile, there were a total of 34 candidates who contested the SGPC elections on various party tickets including 11 of Shiromani Akali Dal, 10 of the Panthic Morcha, two of Akali Dal International, one of Dal Khalsa and nine were independent candidates.

Bhanokheri wins in Ambala district

AMBALA: Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) candidate Gurdip Singh Bhanokheri won in the SGPC election from Ambala district Halqa for which the election and counting were held today. Bhanokheri made his lead in Kalka, Pinjore and Panchkula while his rival Harpal Singh Pali of SAD Haryana state led in urban areas of Ambala city, Ambala cantonment and other towns. It is learnt that Bhanokheri won with a margin of 1338 votes over his nearest rival Pali.

Bhanokheri registered his victory as the voters mostly voted in favour of Taksali Akali Dal that is SAD (Badal) candidate. The Additional Deputy Commissioner S L Kaushik, incharge of the election said the result would be announced formally tomorrow. Sitting SGPC member Surjit Singh Niddar said Bhanokheri’s victory was a victory of SAD president Badal. Supporters of Pali said he suffered defeat mainly because of his association with SAD Haryana state leader Kartar Singh Takkar who had lost ground among the Sikh voters after he shifted his loyalties following revolt in Haryana Akali Dal against the SAD (Badal).

Panthic Morcha makes it in Kharar, Morinda

KHARAR: By defeating the nominees of the Parkash Singh Badal-led Shiromani Akali Dal, the candidates of Panthic Morcha, a conglomerate of rebel Akali factions, won all the three SGPC seats in Kharar and Morinda.

While Bhajan Singh Shergill of the Panthic Morcha defeated his nearest rival Ujjagar Singh Badali of the SAD by a narrow margin of about 145 votes from general seat, the sitting SGPC member Mokha Singh Gharuan of the SAD was defeated by the Panthic Morcha candidate Harnek Singh from the SC reserve seat by a margin of around 900 votes in Kharar, according to official information received here late this evening.

The Panthic Morcha candidate Balbeer Singh Gill defeated his nearest rival sitting SGPC member Jagjeet Singh Rattangarh of the SAD by around 1,800 votes in Morinda. As the official declaration of results is scheduled for tomorrow, the exact polling and result figures were not readily available.

97 pc turnout at Nalagarh

PARWANOO: The polling turnout for the Shiromani Gurdwara Prabhandak Committee elections today was 97 per cent polling in proper Nalagarh. There were a total of 3269 voters in Nalagarh division and 2631 voters cast their vote, informed Rupali Thakur, SDM Nalagarh. Overall, the total polling stood at approximately 80 per cent. While Bhinder Singh got 2231 votes, Jagir Singh got only 306, Satnam and Malkiat got 92 and 14, respectively.

In Parwanoo there were total 74 votes out of which 18 votes were cast and Daljeet Singh got 14 votes where as Jagir Singh got 3 votes only. One was vote was declared invalid.

SAD alleges bias, Badal to lead protest in Kharar today

KHARAR: The Shiromani Akali Dal will be launching a massive protest against the alleged bias in the declaration of results for the two seats of SGPC in Kharar. The SAD president Parkash Singh Badal would lead the protest here tomorrow. SAD veteran leader Ujjagar Singh Badali, who was SAD nominee from Kharar general SGPC seat, alleged that he and the SAD candidate Mokha Singh Gharuan had won their respective seats but under ?government pressure’, their rival candidates of the Panthic Morcha were ?made’ victorious. ??A protest dharna will be staged outside the SDM office in Kharar at 8.30 am, where the party leaders, including Badal, will strongly condemn the wrong declaration of the SGPC poll results,’’ announced Badali.


in The Indian Express, Sunday, July 11, 2004.

SPIP | template | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0